2017 Team of the Year Award Presented to Jail Wait Litigation Team

Photo courtesy of Hartmannphoto, LLC

Congratulations to the Jail Wait Litigation Team, honored on May 5, 2017 at the Colorado Lawyers Committee Awards Luncheon as the 2017 Team of the Year. We are delighted to recognize the following members of the Jail Wait Litigation Team:

  • Caleb Durling (Rollin Braswell Fisher LLC)
  • Iris Eytan (Eytan Nielsen LLC)
  • Mark Ivandick (Disability Law Colorado)
  • Kelsey Lesco (Disability Law Colorado)
  • Ellie Lockwood (Snell & Wilmer)
  • Jason M. Lynch (Davis Graham & Stubbs LLP)
  • Jennifer Purrington (Disability Law Colorado)

This team has worked for many years on a lawsuit arising from a 2006 action against the State Hospital in Pueblo, alleging it failed to provide timely evaluations and treatment for individuals with mental illness who were waiting in Colorado jails.  After requesting the court to reopen the case in 2016 due to the state’s failure to comply with a previous settlement, the volunteers successfully negotiated another settlement. This requires the State to pay for an independent consultant to monitor the State’s compliance with the agreement to evaluate individuals within 24-28 days of receipt of the court order and essential police reports.  Thank you to the Jail Wait Litigation Team members for your dedication and commitment.

Comments are closed.